Thursday, April 28, 2011

The Great Green Wall in Arica - La Grande Muraille Verte

The Great Green Wall is a project adopted in 2007 by the African Union, in response to the problem of desertification,degradation of the soil and poverty in the Sahel-Saharan region. It envisage a strip of forest about 9 miles wide on average that would link Dakar on the Atlantic coast with Djibouti on the Red Sea in the east. The wall would be more than 4,400 miles long.

The 11 countries involved in the project are Burkina Faso, Chad, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal and Sudan.

Post a Comment

Popular Posts Last Week

Popular Posts This Month

Popular Posts All Time